Boulogne-Billancourt, December 7th, 2020

FIA World Rally Championship 2020
ACI Rally Monza – Seventh and last round

## Michelin, World Rally Champion

- The Drivers' and Co-Drivers' crowns with Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia
- The Manufacturers' title with Hyundai Motorsport
- Michelin also clinches 2020's WRC2 and WRC3 titles

Victory at this weekend's ACI Rally Monza saw Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia claim the 2020 FIA World Rally Championship in their Michelin-equipped Toyota Yaris WRC. It is their first Drivers' crown with the Japanese carmaker and the seventh of their career, a run achieved with three different manufacturers – Volkswagen, Ford (M-Sport) and Toyota. The French duo has combined exceptional speed and reliability over the past 10 decade, during which it claimed every one of its world titles on Michelin rubber.

Sebastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia overcame extraordinarily challenging weather in northern Italy to finish Rally Monza ahead of second- and third-placed Ott Tänak/Martin Järveoja and Dani Sordo/Carlos Del Barrio who allowed Michelin's partner Hyundai Motorsport to top the FIA WRC Manufacturers' standings for the second year running.

"First of all, I would like to congratulate Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia on winning their seventh world title, and also Hyundai Motorsport on successfully defending its 2019 Manufacturers' crown," says **Arnaud Rémy**, the manager of Michelin's rally programmes. "These titles were secured on an event that wasn't initially part of the 2020 WRC calendar but which turned out to be extremely challenging, with the week's treacherous conditions including heavy snow. Since 2011, the year Michelin returned to the WRC after an absence of five years, Ogier and Ingrassia have won seven of the 10 Drivers' titles up for grabs, in three different cars all equipped with Michelin rubber. Over the decade, they have emerged as tremendous flag-bearers for our brand and our tyres have been a common denominator of their achievements in the course of this period."

Although this year's shortened schedule meant that Michelin was unable to reach the symbolic score of 350 individual FIA WRC event wins, its tally now stands at 347, another record that speaks volumes for the considerable role Michelin has played in world-class rallying since the championship's creation in 1973.

Interestingly, it was also Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia who notched up Michelin's 300<sup>th</sup> WRC success – at the 2016 Rally RACC Catalunya driving a Volkswagen Polo R WRC.

Other landmark dates of Michelin's involvement in the FIA World Rally Championship include winning the competition's very first round – the **1973 Rallye Monte-Carlo** – which saw the firm introduce radial tyre technology to rallying.



## MEDIA INFORMATION

In 1982, Michelin secured its first WRC win with an all-wheel drive car – the Group 4 Audi Quattro of Hannu Mikkola/Arne Hertz – at the 1000 Lakes Rally in Finland.

In **1997**, the first year of World Rally Cars, Michelin took its maiden victory in the new category at the Acropolis Rally in Greece with Ford's Carlos Sainz/Luis Moya before reaping the Drivers' title at the end of the year with Tommi Mäkinen (Group A Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IV).

More recently, Michelin has combined repeated success in the overall standings with a long list of victories in the WRC2 and WRC3 classes, in which it claimed both titles this season in association with Mads Østberg/Torstein Eriksen (WRC2/Citroën C3 R5) and Jari Huttunen/Mikko Lukka (WRC3/Hyundai NG i20).

These results underline the broad spectrum covered by Michelin's extensive range of rally tyres, as well as its long, close involvement with the sport at many different levels. Indeed, as its current spell in the FIA World Rally Championship comes to an end this weekend, Michelin Motorsport's focus department turns its attention to the sport's regional, international and national championships with a range of bespoke tyres and services.

The end of the 2020 season sees Michelin conclude the most recent decade of its 41-year involvement in the WRC by extending its unique record in the championship:

**347** victories

More than **7,500** special stage wins, with **58** different drivers

More than **1,000** podium placings

**30** Manufacturers' world titles, with **11** different carmakers

28 Drivers' world titles, with 12 different drivers

